2/15/10 – 2/15/10

sometimes there’s a post in my head that i don’t want to write, but know i need to.  this is that post.

today my sister ally gave birth to a daughter.  baby emma was only at about 18 weeks, and the birth was intentional – my sister was induced.  ally went for her first sonogram on thursday to find out the sex of the baby, only to discover that the baby had anencephaly.  basically, her daughter would not be viable after birth, no matter what the doctors did.  so today emma was born, and today she passed away.  this is incredibly hard for me.  i cannot fathom what my sister and her fiance are going through.

through this we have discovered the true importance of folic acid for potential mothers, so please inform any possible or newly pregnant mother you might know that simply by taking folic acid she can reduce the chances of her child developing anencephaly or spina bifida by 50%.  please help me honor emma’s memory by letting your friends know, it would mean a lot.

and to those of you that already knew and have offered your support, prayers, and thoughts, we really appreciate it and i can’t say enough how much ally is going to need it today and ongoing.  thank you.

7 thoughts on “2/15/10 – 2/15/10

  1. Michelle says:

    Your sister and family are in my prayers.

  2. Jules says:

    Hi Katie, I am so sorry to hear about your loss. My deepest condolences to you and your family.

  3. Lauren says:

    Hey Katie,

    Just wanted you to know that your family is in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. coltempo says:

    thank you ladies, any positive vibes in the universe will go far in helping my sister through this.

  5. I am so very sorry to hear about this. What a terrible thing your sister and her fiance are experiencing. My heart goes out to them.

    • coltempo says:

      thank you lindsay, i appreciate it! it has been very difficult and i’m sure will not be any easier for some time. thanks for taking a minute to read about it.

  6. Amber Kellen says:

    Heart crushing! 😦 *sigh* Being a mother of 3 that post just made my heart sink into my stomach. I will send lots of prayers her way, because I know that I would need a TON! Although it is very hard, I do believe everything happens for a reason, and I also believe that God would never put us in a situation in which we weren’t strong enough to go through. I’m so very sorry….Iwish I could offer something more meaningful than that, but sometimes “I’m sorry” can go a long way.
    Love and Hugs~
    Amber

Leave a Reply

